On running and community

by Gilbert Keith

I saw this article recently about a local runner and her journey. I don’t know Laurie personally but her story is awesome. And big props to the Tacoma Runners group. It is great to see that despite the steady growth (a LOT of people come to the runs) they have been able to maintain an inclusive culture.

Tacoma’s Laurie Campbasso runs her way to better health, loses 70 pounds | The Olympian

http://www.theolympian.com/outdoors/article129077579.html

Campobasso has used running and walking to lose more than 70 pounds. (She said she weighed at least 275 pounds before her knee surgery.)

She said finding the Tacoma Runners was a pivotal moment in journey. She ran and walked with the group on Thursday nights and Saturday mornings. And by the end of 2014, she signed up for her first half marathon.

“Tacoma Runners accepted me day one even though my doctor said I could only walk,” Campobasso said.

