Whither Facebook

by Gilbert Keith

I have been trying to wean myself off Facebook. A few days ago, I basically decided that I was spending too much time on the website, doing nothing but browsing peoples’ newsfeeds, and doing things that were only so short of being creepy. I started feeling that I was being way too gossipy and stalkerish. I was commenting on peoples’ posts more frequently, writing on their profiles more frequently, updating my own status too frequently. It really started bothering me when, instead of doing my Econ homework a few days ago, I was too busy posting about how much I hated writing it. The funny thing was that I’d already stayed up until 2 AM to finish this homework, and when I was only 80% done by 1 AM, I was channeling my energy reserves into complaining about it to a faceless medium instead of focusing on the task at hand.

I’ve been Facebook free for, eh, 5 days now. I still find myself going to the facebook front page occasionally, but I haven’t logged on to learn about what’s going on peoples’ lives. As such, if you care about me and are soliciting my response for whatever reason, please don’t by annoyed when your posts on my wall, or messages in my inbox, or your event invitations, or whatever don’t go unanswered.

I don’t actually know if people who come to my facebook actually read this blog, but I guess this is my best shot at mass communication. For obvious reasons, I don’t want to send out an email to 730 people saying “look at me, I quit facebook blah blah blah.”

By the by, the good thing is that I found a way to export my facebook contacts to a csv. obviously, not all contacts have been transfered, but I’ve got a good 620 emails now on my email contacts instead of facebook, which is a fine thing.

Gautam

